Financial Policy Committee

The Bank of England’s Financial Policy Committee (FPC) identifies, monitors and takes action to remove or reduce systemic risks with a view to protecting and enhancing the resilience of the UK financial system.

The Financial Policy Committee (FPC) was established in 2013 as part of the new system of regulation brought in to improve financial stability after the financial crisis.

Find out more about what the FPC does

Members of the Financial Policy Committee

The FPC normally has thirteen members. Six of them are Bank of England staff: the Governor, four Deputy Governors and the Executive Director for Financial Stability Strategy and Risk.

There are also five external members who are selected from outside the Bank for their experience and expertise in financial services. 

The committee also includes the Chief Executive of the Financial Conduct Authority and one non-voting member from HM Treasury.

This page was last updated 26 July 2022

Give your feedback

Was this page useful?
Add your details...