CBDC Engagement Forum

The CBDC Engagement Forum looks at all aspects of a central bank digital currency apart from the technology it might use.

The CBDC Engagement Forum looks at all aspects of a central bank digital currency apart from the technology it might use.

The forum helps us to understand the practical challenges of designing, implementing and operating a CBDC, which includes:

  • how a currency will be used (‘use cases’)
  • functional needs of users
  • the role of the public and private sectors
  • financial and digital inclusion
  • data and privacy implications

The forum’s members are senior leaders from financial institutions, civil society groups and merchants, among others. We chose them by an open application process (the window for that has now closed).

We chair this forum jointly with HM Treasury.

CBDC Engagement Forum terms of reference

CBDC Engagement Forum minutes

  •  Member  Role Organisation
    Adam Jackson Director of Policy Innovate Finance
    Anne Boden Board member and Former CEO
    Starling Bank
    Arunan Tharmarajah Head of European Banking and Payments
    Arvin Abraham Partner Goodwin Procter
    Bryan Zhang
    Co-Founder and Executive Director
    Cambridge Centre for Alternative Finance
    Charlotte Hogg
    CEO Visa Europe
    Chris Rhodes
    CFO Nationwide Building Society
    Colin Bell
    CEO HSBC Europe
    David Grunwald
    Group Director of Innovation & Partnerships
    NatWest Group
    Diana Layfield
    President, EMEA Partnerships
    Etay Katz
    Partner Ashurst
    Fran Boait Co-Executive Director Positive Money
    Hannah Regan
    Financial Policy Lead
    British Retail Consortium
    Harry Newman
    Head of Market Initiatives EMEA
    Jana Mackintosh
    Managing Director for Payments, Innovation and Resilience
    UK Finance
    Jorn Lambert  Chief Digital Officer
    Kate Frankish
    Chief Business Development Officer
    Martin McTague
    National Chair
    Federation of Small Businesses
    Mick McAteer
    Founder and co-Director
    The Financial Inclusion Centre
    Nabil Manji
    Senior Vice President, Head of Crypto & Web3
    Natasha de Terán
    Member The Financial Services Consumer Panel
    Neha Narula
    Director of the Digital Currency Initiative
    Paul Bances
    Vice President - Global Market Development - Blockchain, Crypto & Digital Currencies
    Reema Patel
    Research Director
    Ipsos UK
    Ruth Wandhöfer
    Member PSR Panel
    Simon Coles
    CTO PayPoint
    Simon Gaysford
    Founder and Director
    Frontier Economics
    Simon Gleeson
    Partner Clifford Chance
    Tracey McDermott, CBE
    Group Head, Conduct, Financial Crime and Compliance
    Standard Chartered Bank
    William Chalmers
    CFO Lloyds Banking Group
This page was last updated 22 November 2023